Late show earns OT win for Dynamos

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tickets

By Tom Hurley

A late equaliser and an overtime winner saw reigning playoff champions Invicta Dynamos earn a 2-1 victory over Thunder at Planet Ice on Sunday, October 15.

An end-to-end first period began with Dynamos’ import forward Adam Rehak striking the frame of Tom Annetts goal, with both goalies pulling off a string of saves to preserve the 0-0 score line through 20 minutes of play.

Ex-Thunder netminder Damien King thwarted efforts from Ross Bowers, Grant McPherson, Gareth O’Flaherty and Rio Grinnell-Parke while Annetts shut down efforts from Louis Colvin and Mason Webster.

The second period saw power play opportunities for each side come and go before an odd-man rush enabled Thunder to take a 1-0 advantage.

McPherson and Bowers combined to set up the pacey Jamie Line for his third goal of the season in the game’s 39th minute, giving MKT the advantage heading into the third period.

Only the goal post denied Grinnell-Parke the opportunity to double Thunder’s lead early in the third as both teams pressed forward in search of finding the net.

It was Invicta who would find a way to beat the opposing goalie in the 56th minute when Harrison Lillis setup Brandon Webster who beat Annetts to tie the game, ensuring a point for each team through 60 minutes.

A frantic 3-on-3 overtime then began which both sides going close to scoring an early winner, with the Kent club finally pouncing 58 seconds into the extra frame.

With Line lying on the floor in the attacking zone after being upended by two Dyanmos players, Invicta raced down the other end with Rehak beating Annetts to score the game winner and collect an extra point for the visitors.

Leave a Reply